Wacky Relationship Stat of The Day

Did you know….

If your parents were divorced, you’re at least 40 percent more likely to get divorced than if they weren’t. If your parents married others after divorcing, you’re 91 percent more likely to get divorced.

This could be because witnessing a parents’ divorce reinforces our ambivalence about commitment in a “disposable society,” says Divorce Magazine publisher Dan Couvrette. “In most people’s minds, it’s easier to get a new car than fix the one you’ve got.”

Yikes people….relationships aren’t disposable.Β  Work on your relationship – fix yourself and value the one you’ve got, will ya? πŸ™‚

(Source: Nicholas Wolfinger, Understanding the Divorce Cycle, Cambridge University Press, 2005)

Photo credit: Sean MacEntee’s Flickr photostream

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Statistics

Author:coupletastic

I'm a married publicist who holds a Master's degree in psychology, with a concentration in Marriage and Family Therapy. I'd like to make the world a better place...one relationship at a time.

Subscribe Now

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Wacky Relationship Stat of The Day”

  1. February 8, 2012 at 7:38 am #

    I’m currently single, as my username and blog will attest to, but I believe that I’ve come up with a pretty much fool proof way to avoid divorce. I will not be getting a no-fault divorce. If I divorce my husband it will be because on abuse or infedelity (although I think infedelity can be worked through). It’s easy to not a div

    • February 8, 2012 at 7:39 am #

      *It’s easy to not get a so-called “no fault and by that I mean your fault” divorce; just don’t get one.

  2. February 8, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    I find the quote about the car especially funny because the publisher has a name that sounds like “corvette.” (the official automobile of the ‘mid-life crisis’) πŸ˜‰

    • February 8, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

      Funny! I didn’t notice that until you mentioned it! πŸ™‚

  3. February 8, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    What a sad statistic! I’m divorced and remarried. I vowed to myself that I would teach my kids how to lead a healthy relationship, yes too many of us just don’t want to “work” at the marriage, and some of us get married for the wrong reasons (me!) and that is why things don’t work out. But I can tell you, I’ve learned a lot about relationships and the success begins with YOU first. Have a realistic expectation of yourself, of what you want in a partner and what you expect from your relationship. And remember that things do change and grow. You can’t think “You used to do this” because you will grow and change together. I hope that by being remarried, it shows my kids that I do believe in the Institution of Marriage, and they have seen some bad times in this marriage and have seen us work it out. They also see the difference between their father and I and truly realize that we were not suited to each other. I’m happy to say that I’m great friends with my ex, and best friends with my husband. Don’t let stats rule how life goes!

    • February 8, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

      This is a great insight! Thanks so much for sharing it, SweetP! I totally agree!

  4. February 8, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    Seriously? 91% if ur parents remarried? That can’t possibly be right. Way to SPIN a stastic, Wolfinger :-/

  5. February 8, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    I don’t know who I would have become if I had stayed married, but I know I like the person I am now. I feel healther, happier and have a very good, no make that great, relationship with my long-term beau. Although we don’t plan on getting married we do plan to stick together for HEA. Enjoy, T

Leave a Reply

