Feng Shui Your Way to Love

I don’t know about you, but when I was single I was open to trying new things that might bring me to find true love. I was more than happy to do online dating, go on blind dates, get a makeover, join Meet Up groups, organize post-work happy hours. I just wanted to be open to all the possibilities out there.  I will admit that I even had a friend come over to help me Feng Shui my condo.

Crazy, you say? I dunno.  First of all, it was very fun. Secondly, I did end up finding Mr. Right. So, who knows maybe it really worked?

Feng shui is a system, that teaches how the things around you can effect your life, then helps you to bring those things into harmony to those to create more opportunity to live the life that you really want to live.

Feng shui translates into English literally as ‘wind and water’, and it is the varying interactions between the two that forms ‘chi’, otherwise known as energy. Chi is at the core of feng shui. Understanding how these interactions take place, and the different types of energy occurring as a result can help you to make positive life changes, in all areas, including health, family, relationships and career.

How do I feng shui my home to attract love, you ask? Well, I came across this cool article that came out today in Om Times Magazine, entitled, “Find True Love By Valentine’s Day with Feng Shui” that had some good tips…and then I added in a few of my own…

  • Make sure that your bedroom has balance – not too masculine or too feminine.
  • Clear up the clutter in your home – especially in your love and relationship corner (the southwest section of your bedroom and home – get a compass folks)
  • Make room in your bedroom for a potential partner. Do you have two nightstands? Is there any room in your closet for a partner to keep things? Set up your bedroom the way you’d have it if you already share it with a partner. Make sure one side of your bed isn’t jammed up against the wall.
  • Is there anything in your home that might indicate that you are blocking yourself from finding the true love you want? If you have a lot of photos of single people, exchange them for pictures of happy couples or groups of people.
  • Make sure that the front door to your home opens a full 90 degrees so that good energy can fully flow into your home.
  • Mandarin ducks are popular symbols of lovers and potent symbol of marital bliss. Place a pair of mandarin ducks in the Southwest corner of your living room or bedroom. Mandarin ducks will activate your love and marriage chi which will bring happiness and ever-lasting love to your life.
  • A mirror facing the bed from any side, for example ceiling, wall, closet door or dressing table, which reflects the couple on the bed is bad feng shui. This could create a failure in the relationship due to a third party interference or infidelities. If you can’t move the mirrors in the bedroom so they are not facing the bed,  use a cloth and cover the mirror when both your mate and you are sleeping.

That’s a pretty good start if you haven’t tried feng shui before. Give it a try – it’s fun…if you really like it there are great books like this that can be a big help.  At the very least, your house won’t be a cluttered mess anymore – which will impress dates! 😉

Have you ever tried feng shui?  Would you give it a try?

If you’re interested in more feng shui, here are a couple of additional good additional articles:

LA Times

Chicago Tribune

Photo credit: trioptikmal’s flickr photostream

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Tips

Author:coupletastic

I'm a married publicist who holds a Master's degree in psychology, with a concentration in Marriage and Family Therapy. I'd like to make the world a better place...one relationship at a time.

Subscribe Now

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Feng Shui Your Way to Love”

  1. February 1, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    Cool stuff, dear. Love it!

    • February 8, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

      Thanks Heidi. Glad you like it. I think it’s very fun to Feng Shui!

  2. February 2, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    My room is small, so it’s againts a wall, with one night stand. ~.~ And my closet is full to the brim. I really need to declutter. but then I live with my parents, so I guess it’s alright. hahaha.

    • February 8, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

      Maybe plan to do a full feng shui makeover when you get your own first place? 🙂

  3. February 2, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    I love Feng Shui!!! My bedroom is actually feng shui’d. I sleep much better when the headboard is facing the wall, than when it’s faced towards the window. I re arrange my room quite often, and can tell the difference now. I also close the bathroom door at night. Sleep is very important to me. I love the tips for using feng shui to attract love.

    • February 8, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

      Mine is too! The only issue I have is the previous owners installed a mirror on the closet door that’s not removable. It’s really bad feng shui, but I haven’t gotten around to changing the door out. Eek!

  4. February 6, 2012 at 1:10 am #

    I love this. I need to seriously do something about my bedroom!

    • February 8, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

      There are a ton of great books out there that give lots of ideas. I personally think that the bedrooom is the MOST important room to feng shui. If you’re only going to do one room, that’s the one to do! 🙂

Leave a Reply

