Why Funny is Sexy…

How evolved do you think we are?

It’s interesting to think about how much of our behavior really still is based on evolutionary traits and drivers dating back practically to the big bang.

Do even a cursory review of the online dating profiles of women and I bet you $100 that about 80% of them say they are looking for a mate who can make them laugh. Men, on the flip side, aren’t looking for a knee-slapper of a woman…instead, they look for someone who finds them funny and who will laugh at their jokes. Research has actually proved this is true .

So, why do we women think that funny is so sexy?

Well, according to researchers, the trait that women most desire in a partner is intelligence. And, according to evolutionary theory, intelligence is prized because intelligent people are more likely to succeed in life, gain resources and attain high status. In hunter-gatherer societies this translated into being a good hunter and provider. In today’s society however, intelligence can manifest itself in many ways, and humor is one of them.

The ability to say something funny requires a high level of intelligence. A good sense of humor is about timing, the ability to say the funny thing at the right time and to the right people. Humor is an interpersonal activity that requires a high level of emotional, social and also mating intelligence. Therefore, a good sense of humor is a great indicator of intelligence. These abilities are sexually attractive because they are hard to fake indicators of intelligence, and evolutionarily could also indicate that the person showing them carries good genes. We ladies are really not much different then our cavewomen ancestors…we all still want to land the guy with the most potential. We just have different indicators of that potential.

So, ultimately we find men who are funny to be smart, witty and yes….sexy!

Interestingly, according to a study published this year, those who scored the highest for their sense of humor  reported having more sex, having more sexual partners, and started having sex earlier in life than those with less sense of humor. Humor is a proven indicator that intelligence turns into mating success.

So, if you ever wonder why funny guys are so freakin hot….now you know. 😉

Are you attracted to funny guys? Are there other traits that you find more attractive than humor?

Thanks to Psychology Today for this information: http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/humor-sapiens/201110/why-jokes-are-seductive

Photo credit: LeLuzie’s Flickr photostream  

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Discussion

Author:coupletastic

I'm a married publicist who holds a Master's degree in psychology, with a concentration in Marriage and Family Therapy. I'd like to make the world a better place...one relationship at a time.

Subscribe Now

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Why Funny is Sexy…”

  1. November 30, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    I guess that explains why I find my husband extremely sexy. :0)

    • December 5, 2011 at 3:13 am #

      You lucky girl! My guy is very funny too! 😉

  2. December 3, 2011 at 3:46 am #

    I’m a complete softy for the funny. On the first date with my new (2 years) husband I was laughing with tears streaming down my face 30 minutes into the date. He makes me laugh like crazy.

  3. December 5, 2011 at 3:14 am #

    Deborah….you guys are a fantastic fit! He’s a keeper!

  4. December 6, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    I have to say, humour is not something my boyfriend lacks! He’s very funny, unfortunately it is at my expense sometimes. I really like this connection of humour as sexy with intelligence. For me, I love a smart guy, it’s just so hot when a guy is striving to be someone and has goals set out for himself. It may just be me, seeing that I am a long-term thinker, but I love it!

  5. December 7, 2011 at 1:29 am #

    There are times when my boyfriend (lover) has me crying or peeing my pants, he’s so funny. But you wouldn’t necessarily know it to meet him. He can be quiet, but when he speaks, I listen… and laugh. Love your blog. Enjoy always, T

  6. December 11, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    I finally understand! Smart guys are sexy. Funny guys are sexy too. How did I not see the link myself?! Thanks Coupletastic ❤

    By the way, I love that you were able to explain this going back to science/evolution/biology =]

Leave a Reply

