Great Date Thursday – special oops edition

LOL…I forgot that yesterday was Wednesday…that shows you where my head is.  So what are your plans for the weekend? Great date? Girls night out? Couch surfing?

Well, if you’re dating or married…do something different this weekend. Spice things up!

BUT… if you’re single..get the heck out there! You’re not going to meet ‘the one’ by ordering takeout and watching a DVD alone (I spent many a night trying to make that trick work, face it, it doesn’t).

I had a friend who used to complain all the time to me that she never met any good men. But when you looked at her life, it was easy to see why. She woke up early and drove to the gym, worked out, dressed at the gym, drove to work, worked long hours, drove home late, ate cereal for dinner on her couch and did the same thing the very next day…and on and on. I told her that the only way she was going to meet someone that way was if she accidently hit someone with her car…lol.

Shaking things in our lives up is scary, yes…but what’s scarier is waking up one day and wondering where your life went. So this week it’s time to make a date with YOURSELF. Let’s make you a plan. How are you going to get out there so you can bump into ‘the one’?

Here are some ideas:

  • Sign up for an online dating site (I have never seen anyone have success with sites like OkCupid CraigsList or Plenty of Fish…but I know at least 4 couples who met and married from Match.com and eHarmony….free is rarely ever better…think of who might be attracted to certain dating sites and choose one that you think would attract sincere, quality guys). Write a witty, profile deviod of your personal baggage, include cute photos of yourself and weed responses to your ad ruthlessly for your non-negotiables. It’s about quality over quantity, folks.
  • Go to MeetUp.com and search your area for groups getting together and doing cool things. You could have an instant date to go hiking, go to an art gallery, join a supper club, pop into a happy hour. The key is to sign up for activities that are typically co-ed (so no, you cannot sign up for knitting or shopping groups). I met a bevvy of interested single men when I joined a kayaking(summer) and skiing(winter, obviously) MeetUp group.
  • SoloDate! Grab your kindle and head to the bar of your favorite restaurant. Order a drink and something to eat and read. But…you can’t just bury your nose in your book. Smile at the room…scan the area…make eye contact with eligibles. (My friend nearly patented her technique…make eye contact, make a half smile and look away. Count out or estimate at least a full minute…then look back…make eye contact again…this time hold contact just a little longer…count three beats in your head. Then smile and look away. Repeat once more…guaranteed to get the guy to cross the room to you…)
  • Become an Organizer. Don’t wait for great social plans to come to you…make your own! Send out an evite, rally the troops…set a time and a fun, high energy place and go there (restaurant, club, film festival, local concert, etc). So maybe the first time you do this, 3-4 people will meet you there. Then you tell them to add their other friends and coworkers next time. Send out an evite for another event the next week…then you’ll get 7 to 8 people and so on, and so on. It’s the multiplier effect! People love other people who make plans…plus you widen your social circle and meet lots of new people. I did this for a while and people started adding their coworkers and college friends…some events had 40 to 50 people each time. A lot of fun!

So…what’s it going to be?  Tell us what cool thing YOU are planning for this weekend…don’t be shy, you might give someone else a good idea or motivate someone by seeing you try something new and different!

Photo credit: antony_mayfield’s Flickr photostream

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Ideas

Author:coupletastic

I'm a married publicist who holds a Master's degree in psychology, with a concentration in Marriage and Family Therapy. I'd like to make the world a better place...one relationship at a time.

Subscribe Now

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Great Date Thursday – special oops edition”

  1. November 17, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    I recently checked out okcupid.com and it’s pretty good, and free. Other than that I think I will be at home, what can I say? I have no car, the local transit craps out at 9:40pm, I live in the mountains and I am a civilized gal in an uncivilized place. I just met Ital guy online and what do you think he did? he sent me a nude pic. (ooooh I smell another blog post coming on!)
    😉
    I like your suggestions though, they’re great. I just have to relocate first! 😉

    • November 18, 2011 at 4:02 am #

      Definitely keep me posted on your OKCupid experiences! I saw your post about the cheeky guy…fantastic!
      I think that when you’re in a location where the local pickings are slim, online dating is the exactly right solution…

  2. November 17, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    suggestions are great, I have tried most dating sites, with no luck and have sort of given up. I am the girl who drives to work, works long days, and comes home watches an old love story and wish it was me in the picture. I will have to try the suggestion of the kindle and the bar…. so my plans for the weekend are to coach volleyball, go home and watch a movie and hope for snow. Sunday I am suppose to go to a wedding reception, maybe there will be a cute person there.

    • November 18, 2011 at 4:05 am #

      Weddings are great places to meet new people! I highly recommend the reading in public thing…restaurants, coffee shops, parks. But you have to work the room a bit with your eyes and smile. Have you read the book “Searching For Courtship”? I need to add that book to my Recommended Reading page…it gives a ton of great ideas about how to get out there…

  3. November 18, 2011 at 5:12 am #

    I met my boyfriend on Plenty of Fish.. It will be a year in December. I tried Match, but felt like there were a lot less choices than on POF or OkCupid. You just have to be very selective and screen potential dates well.

    • November 21, 2011 at 1:32 am #

      I think that there’s a lot of promise on some of the new dating sites. I’d love to hear what you thought about Plenty of Fish vs other sites. Congrats on nearing your one-year anniversary! So much fun! I agree that sucess with online dating is all about quality over quantity and weeding through responses ruthlessly for your non-negotiables. 🙂

  4. trennasue
    November 18, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Perhaps I should have been smarter!! Oh well, our therapist has a job!

  5. December 9, 2011 at 3:07 am #

    Bookmarking now!

Leave a Reply

